The 2024 euRobotics Georges Giralt PhD Award is now open for submissions. The Award’s aim is to showcase PhD theses defended during 2023 in European universities from all areas of robotics. Outstanding theses with strong theoretical contributions, a focus on professional applications or technology transfer, with a high degree of multi-disciplinarity, or showing how robotics technologies can be applied to new domains, are eligible for the prize. 

The award consists of a plaque and the publication of the thesis by Springer in the STAR series. It will be given to the winner(s) at the next European Robotics Forum (ERF) to be held 13-15 March 2024 in Rimini, Italy.  

 The award covers the solar year with a submission deadline on 30 November 2023. Candidates whose PhD defence is planned for December need to submit as well with an integration of information after the defence. 

The selection of finalists will be announced mid-to end February 2024. Finalists selected will be expected to give a 15-20 minute presentation of their research at ERF. This oral presentation will form part of the award evaluation. The oral presentation is, by default, in person. Exceptions will be handled case-by-case by informing the board. 

The official date is the viva-voce defence. Finalists will be requested to prove this with a copy of the committee report or a mail from the tutor. 

Award entry submissions are invited from PhD candidates from eligible countries: those within geographical Europe and associated countries in Horizon Europe funding programme. See current list of associated countries.    

Self-candidatures only are accepted. 

Submissions are made by sending an email to the Georges Giralt Award Committee phd.award AT after filling the PhD Award submission form.The pdf thesis file should be unchanged with regard to what is sent to the committee. 

Each finalist will receive a financial travel subsidy of €500 plus a free ticket to ERF plus a free ticket to the Dinner. 

The jury for the Georges Giralt PhD Award are all members of the euRobotics community. Find out who they are as well as the former award winners